image Wedding Wednesday: Ashley & Dave

Tiffany Brubaker Photography

September 21, 2013

What was it like working with Charlotte’s?

Working with Charlotte’s was like a dream! They made my hectic bridal life so much easier! I had gone to other retailers for my dress and had poor service and poor choices. Charlotte’s was nothing like that! They made my dress shopping experience special. I had my own stylist, dressing room and all the attention in the world. When deciding on our tuxes, Charlotte’s had gorgeous options and were extremely easy and fun to work with. I must say, the men looked so dapper the day of! I really would recommend Charlotte’s to any and every bride starting their dress and tux search! Excellent service, staff and facility!

How did you and your fiance meet?

Dave and I met through a mutual friend of ours, Marisa (one of my bridesmaids and best friends). Marisa had worked with Dave and introduced us during the Sister Hazel concert at River fest in 2005 (in front of the port-o potties, of all places!)

How did he propose?

Dave proposed on New Year’s Eve in 2011-2012. We were living in Fargo over the holidays and were limited to the time we were able to spend with family and friends in La Crosse. We ended up celebrating Christmas with just the two of us that year and decided that New Year’s would be fun to spend back home. We ended up deciding that having dinner with both families would be a fun way to celebrate the holiday, so we made reservations at Yoko’s House for a hibachi experience. Dave also had a mutual friend of ours Facebook me a few days before NYE requesting that we make a stop into the martini lounge he worked at before heading to dinner.

NYE had approached us and we headed to dinner with the family. As we got closer, Dave made an odd turn, like he was heading to Riverside Park (where we met). I was very confused and asked ‘What are you doing, we have a drink to get to!?’ and Dave replied, so sweetly, ‘I know how much you love the Rotary Lights so I thought we’d stop here first’. We walked around the park gazing at the beautiful light display and, all of a sudden, we came to an abrupt stop. Dave asked me ‘do you know where we are?’ and I replied ‘No?’ (As I was very confused). Dave explained that this was the exact spot where we had met and reached into his coat pocket to pull out the ring. He then asked, ‘Will You Marry Me?’ my initial response was, ‘You didn’t get on one knee!’ Dave quickly dropped down onto a knee and asked again. Instant tears came to my eyes as I accepted his proposal. After the proposal, we headed to dinner with family to share the exciting news.

Tiffany Brubaker Photography

What was your favorite part of your wedding day?

My husband and I talk about this frequently, actually! By far, our favorite part was taking a moment to sit back and look at all of your family and friends having a good time together. It’s pretty rare that all the ones you love can get together and celebrate such an exciting life event! I’d recommend all couples to do this at one point during their reception as it’s such a magical moment.

What is one piece of advice you would give brides that are just beginning their search for the perfect wedding gown?

When starting your search for the perfect gown, be open to styles you may not have always ‘pictured’ yourself in! I was closed minded in the beginning of my search and Charlotte’s got me to open my eyes to different shapes, styles and even colors! I ended up with a dress that I never would have thought I’d wear on my wedding day and I’m so thankful I gave it a chance! If I could, I’d wear my dress day and night!

Is there anything special or unique about your wedding that you would like to highlight?

The whole day was extremely special and a day I will never forget! Take it all in on the day of! I do have a silly piece of advice; have your venue box up two pieces of cake for you and your husband to take with you at the end of the night. Dave and I didn’t do this and it was all I could think about on the honeymoon, we never got to eat our own wedding cake! I know it’s silly but I still think about it to this day!

Congratulations Mr. & Mrs. Aldahl!

Photography: TIFFANY BRUBAKER
Leave a Reply

