Wedding Wednesday: Sierra & Joe Branson

joe sierra 6-21-1419

Married: June 21, 2014

What was it like working with Charlotte’s?

Working with Charlotte’s was great and made everything related to our wedding attire go through seamlessly. I worked with Emily as a bridal consultant, and she was so great. She listened to everything that I wanted and totally just felt like another friend along to my appointments. Jessica helped us with creating our bridesmaid looks, and she was just as great as Emily. As a bride, I wanted my bridesmaids to be able to select a dress that they liked and just had them follow a few guidelines. As long as they were all short length, the same blush color, and chiffon fabric – I didn’t care what dress they picked! I wanted them all to be comfortable that day and pick something they liked and felt good in. Jessica was so helpful in giving her advice on how the dresses looked and brought in so many different selections for the girls to choose from. Summer helped make Joe and his groomsmen look handsome that day. She also gave us different tux options as well as her tuxedo expertise as far as what would look good and what wouldn’t. Everyone at Charlotte’s was always so helpful, and we are incredibly happy with how our entire wedding party looked that day!

How did you and your fiance meet?

Joe and I had known each other throughout middle school seeing each other around the Shelby baseball fields as he played baseball and I did softball. We were never really friends until high school, but then our friendship continued to grow more and more each year until it grew to the point of more than just a friendship. We have been together as a couple for almost 7 years now! I couldn’t have imagined spending the rest of my life with anyone else.

How did he propose?

Joe has 5 nieces and nephews that we absolutely love and spend a lot of time with. Since they mean so much to the both of us, he chose to have them help with the proposal. The kids wrote and drew pictures on pieces of paper that spelled out, “Sierra, will you marry me?” He then had his sister in law take pictures of him and the 5 kids holding up the signs. He did this all while I was at work and texted me saying that he had something to give me and would meet me at my house after work. So thinking nothing of it, I drove home to meet him there when he handed me an envelope with the pictures inside and got down on one knee and proposed. He even had called my dad before he came over to take pictures of it all happening. I had no idea at the time, but will always remember that special moment!

blog-image-grid

What was your favorite part of your wedding day?

There are too many favorite moments of the day and Joe and I continue to say we wouldn’t have changed a single thing and how perfect it was. If I had to choose, I would say my favorite part of the day was putting my dress on and getting my whole bridal look together knowing that I would be seeing Joe soon. It was an emotional moment in the day, but also so exciting because I knew that it was the start of something so special and it made me just that more excited to go get married to Joe!

What is one piece of advice you would give brides that are just beginning their search for the perfect wedding gown?

The best advice I would give to newly engaged brides just starting their search for the perfect gown would be to definitely look at gowns ahead of time. I remember spending a good amount of time looking at Pinterest and watching “Say Yes to the Dress” just to see what sort of styles, fabrics, and looks were out there which helped me come to my appointment with a good idea of what I wanted for my dress. Looking back at the pictures of dresses I picked out before I even went to look, they all had the same things in common: fitted, lace fabric, straps, and a fancy/low back. Coincidentally the dress I picked had all four of those things! When I first tried on the dress I ended up buying, it wasn’t what I wanted at all but my bridal consultant, Emily showed me a sparkly belt and lace straps to add on and then it was perfect. It goes to show that there are ways to help create that perfect dress in your mind!

Is there anything special or unique about your wedding that you would like to highlight?

We really tried to add special touches to our day as much as we could. We added a special memorial moment to our ceremony to remember lost loved ones and released balloons into the sky in their honor. One of the other special things we did was create our own table numbers. We used pictures of Joe and I at each age and matched them up with the table number, for example Table #1 had a picture of Joe and I at age 1. I was also very lucky that my mom is quite crafty and she helped us create a lot of our wedding decorations for cheaper and also find ways to reuse them again. Like I said earlier, Joe and I could not have asked for a better day and we can’t wait to start this exciting time in our lives together as husband and wife!

Congratulations Mr. & Mrs. Branson!

Photography:LUANN DIBB
Florist: COTTAGE GARDEN FLORAL
Hair & Makeup: FLAIR SALON & DAY SPA
Ceremony: PETTIBONE RESORT
Reception: PETTIBONE RESORT
Leave a Reply

