Wedding Wednesday: Caitlin & Randy Dahl

caitlin-blocks-1_02

Married: September 6th, 2014

What was it like working with Charlotte’s?

It was wonderful! The whole staff was so friendly and helpful. Everyone genuinely cared about making sure our wedding attire (my dress, the bridesmaid dresses, tuxes, and my Mom’s dress) was perfect for us, which made me feel so comfortable. They offered lots of advice and honest opinions, but they always focused on what we wanted.

How did you and your fiance meet?

Randy and I were both math majors at UW-L and had a math class together in the fall of 2011. We met in class, but facebook is what actually brought us together! Randy ended up dropping the class, so I didn’t see or talk to him for the rest of that semester. During finals week, I saw something he posted on facebook and decided to message him asking why he stopped coming to class. We started talking on and off, and after winter break, when I was back in La Crosse, he asked me on a date!

How did he propose?

Randy proposed in June of 2013. The start of that summer was pretty cold and it had been raining almost everyday. After work one day, I went to visit him, and we had plans for supper with his parents that night. It was finally nice out, so even though it was getting kind of late, I asked if he wanted to go for a walk after supper to enjoy the beautiful weather, and he suggested we go to Riverside. When we got to riverside, we found a bench and he told me that he had a present for me. He handed me a homemade book called “Our Story” and said that I should read it aloud. The book was the story about how we met and fell in love. The whole time I was reading the book, the thought of him proposing never crossed my mind. The last pages even said “…and he realized that he never wanted their story to end, so with that Randy asked…” It wasn’t until I turned the page and saw a ring in the book, that I realized he was proposing. It was a complete surprise and absolutely perfect.

caitlin-blocks-2_02

What was your favorite part of your wedding day?

There were so many great things about our wedding. We definitely enjoyed every minute of the day! I think one of my favorite moments was the few minutes that Randy and I got to spend alone that day. We chose not to see each other before the ceremony, and it wasn’t until probably 4 hours after that, that we got to have a moment alone. We had a little bit of time before our guests arrived for the reception, so we went for a short walk so we could talk for a bit. After that, we went back and had a lot of fun celebrating with our family and friends. I put so much time and energy into planning the wedding, so it was great to see everything put together and have it all go as perfectly as it did.

What is one piece of advice you would give brides that are just beginning their search for the perfect wedding gown?

1. Go in open minded. On my first visit, I didn’t really have any idea of the style of dress that I wanted (I just knew I didn’t want a strapless dress), so I was up for trying anything. 2. Be honest with your consultant. If you see something about a dress that you love/hate don’t be afraid to tell them because they are the experts and will be able to find more dresses for you to try on. 3. Trust your instincts. Everyone told me that when I tried on the one, I’d know it. I didn’t believe them until I tried on my dress. It’ll be the dress that you want to try on again, the one that you don’t want to take off, the one you that makes your mom cry. You’ll know!

Is there anything special or unique about your wedding that you would like to highlight?

Rather than having the typical chicken or beef menu, we had breakfast for supper! Breakfast is Randy’s favorite meal, so we had a buffet with all of our favorite breakfast foods. Everyone loved it!

Congratulations Mr. & Mrs. Dahl!

Photography: ENDLESS IMAGES PHOTOGRAPHY
Florist: Mabel’s on Main
Hair & Makeup: BRENDA AT CURA SALON
Ceremony: Sacred Heart Church, Cashton, WI
Reception: RADISSON CENTER, LA CROSSE, WI
Leave a Reply

