Wedding Wednesday: Karen & Mike Slack

5

Married: September 20th, 2014

What was it like working with Charlotte’s?

It was the experience of a lifetime! The staff was so friendly and always helpful! From the day I walked in to pick out my dress to the day I picked up my dress, they were always there for me, on my side. Everyone at Charlotte’s made sure I loved everything about my dream dress, the bridesmaids’ dresses, and the tuxes. My vision turned into their vision and always focused on what I needed and wanted. I couldn’t believe how wonderful they made my bridal experience. It is truly a once in a lifetime experience and I am glad I went to Charlotte’s.

How did you and your fiance meet?

I was out to dinner with my some friends at this bar & grill which is located in the middle of nowhere-The Norwegian Hollow Hideaway, located outside of Viroqua, WI, in a hidden valley that gets absolutely no reception! Since I wasn’t from the area, my friends thought it would be a fun idea to go out and get some dinner. While we were there, Mike happened to walk in. He wasn’t planning on staying just dropping off something for a friend. When he realized his friend wasn’t there he turned around to leave. Then my friend’s boyfriend stopped him to say hi. They started talking when I noticed Mike. I had never seen him before but there was something about him. Now I am not the type of person to go up and start talking to a stranger but Mike intrigued me so I went and introduced myself. We ended up spending the rest of the night playing pool and talking about our interests. As creepy as it sounds, I knew on this night that I wanted to marry this man. Of course, 11 months later he proposed and the rest is history!

How did he propose?

After 11 months of dating, we thought it was time to take a vacation. We are both outdoors people and love hiking. We decided to take a drip out west to Montana because we wanted to see the mountains. The trip started at Yellowstone National Park. After that we traveled north to Glacier National Park. The night before we were to tour Glacier, we stayed up in the mountains in a city called Whitefish, MT. The lodge we stayed at was absolutely beautiful! That night we planned to drive up the mountain and watch the sunset. We had it all planned, found out exactly when the sun would set and made our way to the top. We sat there on rocks talking about our future and Mike kept asking me questions like if he’s the one and so on. Of course I was absolutely clueless at this point. All of a sudden he jumped up and climbed up more rocks. He knew that I would soon follow but I decided to take a longer route up to him because the rocks didn’t look very safe to climb. Once I finally made it to the top, he told me to close my eyes. After a couple attempts, I finally closed my eyes and when I opened them, he was down on one knee. It was purely the most romantic moment of my life! Now I can tell people I got engaged on a mountain top at sunset!

karen-slack-blog-image-grid

What was your favorite part of your wedding day?

Every part of the wedding day was perfect! I would say my favorite part was when the doors opened to the church and there he was standing there waiting for me. I was so nervous walking down the aisle but I knew that someone I loved was waiting for me and once we reached each other, everything was okay. I was in the arms of the man I was going to marry and love forever.

What is one piece of advice you would give brides that are just beginning their search for the perfect wedding gown?

Be open-minded and try on many dresses before you decide on ‘the one’. Of course it is good to come in with ideas but you never know what you will like until you try different styles on. Also, trust the consultant because they know what they are doing and will be honest and open with you. Looking back to when I tried on dresses, I went all over searching for what I thought I wanted. I just wanted to be done and just find the right dress but I didn’t really think about what I truly wanted. There was a time when I almost ‘settled’ for a dress that I didn’t really want. Once I took a deep breath, the perfect dress was right in front of me. Just take your time and don’t stress about the little things, you will say “yes to the dress” but it may take some time.

Is there anything special or unique about your wedding that you would like to highlight?

Well I learned a very valuable lesson on my wedding day. Once everyone got to the church, the groomsmen and photographer went outside to take some photos. All of a sudden the church got attacked by ladybugs and one happened to poop on the groom’s collar of his tux. Everyone knew I had a tide-to-go pen and when my photographer asked if she could borrow it, I knew something was up. I realized that there are things on the wedding day that will happen and I cannot control, it just needs to happen. Of course during the ceremony, I noticed this little stain on his collar. We just laughed it off and we look back at our wedding day smiling about the crazy ladybug that pooped on the groom’s collar minutes before the ceremony started. Life lesson: Don’t sweat the small stuff – especially on your wedding day!

Congratulations Mr. & Mrs. Slack!

Photography: Labecca Schott Photography
Florist: ROOT RIVER FLORAL
Hair & Makeup: METROPOLITAN SALON AND SPA
Ceremony: Northwest Prairie Church , Viroqua, WI
Reception:Retreat Sportsman Club, Retreat, WI
Leave a Reply

