Wedding Wednesday: Kayla & John Scheevel

Scheevel-5

Married: June 27, 2015

What was it like working with Charlotte’s?

All of the employees at Charlotte’s were amazing and so helpful! They seemed just as excited as I was when I was looking for my wedding gown. I loved that I had my own room that my mom, sister, and niece could be in with me while I tried on all the dresses, they made me feel so important. I live in Illinois so I had to travel back and forth to plan my wedding and they were so accommodating with my schedule and worked with me to make it easier for me and my wedding party. We also ordered our tuxes and bridesmaid dresses from them and everyone commented on what a great place Charlotte’s was and how nice the staff was! I can’t thank them enough for everything they did for me! It really made my wedding planning so much easier!

How did you and your fiance meet?

John and I officially met in second grade at our home church in Winona, MN during children’s choir. We began dating in 8th grade and continued dating through high school and college until getting engaged during our junior year of college at Winona State University.

How did he propose?

John proposed by setting up a decoy double date with one of his friends at a vineyard. On our way there he got a text from his friend saying they would be late and suggested we go on a detour to Gustavus Adolphus College, where we started dating on a confirmation retreat in 8th grade. Upon arriving he led me to a garden that he had previously scouted out and proposed with our friend in the bushes to take pictures.

kayla-blog-image-grid

What was your favorite part of your wedding day?

My favorite part of our wedding day was the first look before the ceremony and pictures. It was nice to have a moment alone with John to see eachother all dressed up and prepare for the busy day ahead.

What is one piece of advice you would give brides that are just beginning their search for the perfect wedding gown?

The biggest piece of advice I would give is make sure your dress is a reflection of how your daily style. If you normally don’t dress up and wear a lot of jewlery (like me) don’t pick a dress that has a ton of sparkles and embellishments and instead go for something simple. Your wedding dress should ultimately be a tribute to who you are, don’t feel you have to go all out just because others may think its neccessary for a wedding.

Is there anything special or unique about your wedding that you would like to highlight?

John arranged for us to take a vintage car from the ceremony to pictures and then to the reception which made for some really awesome pictures!

Congratulations Mr. & Mrs. Scheevel!

Photography: STEPHANIE NEPRUD
Florist: FLORAL VISIONS BY NINA
Hair & Makeup: SUE KOLVE’S SALON
Ceremony: FIRST LUTHERAN CHURCH, ONALASKA, WI
Reception: THE WATERFRONT, LA CROSSE, WI
Leave a Reply

